Home

Online International Learning Project with the Universidad Europea de Madrid.

In your research groups you will be paired up with a group in Madrid you will have the same subject to focus on. You will present the other group’s work and they will present yours in Madrid. Either a minimum of 10 images or short video.

Our subject is Consumer Spaces.

Think :

What are consumer spaces?

Consumer spaces definition (according to Oxford English Dictionaries 2013)

Consumer: a person who purchases goods and services for personal use.

Spaces: 1. a continuous area or expanse which is free, available, or unoccupied:

2. the dimensions of height, depth, and width within which all things exist and move.

Where do you find them?

What happens there?

Who will you find there?

Think what you might want to ask them so you know what you want to photo/video:

Is there a main consumer space?

What is there?

What is the atmosphere?

How it changes from day to night.

Differences between space and place? Is there a difference between English and Spanish?

How has it changed?

Appropriation, Archives and Vernacular.

Duchamps Urinal 1917, why was it the most influential artwork of the 20th century? http://www.theguardian.com/arts/video/2008/feb/20/fountain.duchamp.tate

Walter Benjamin made of book of diary entries .

Robert Opier collected what we throw out, in a gallery in Notting Hill.

Vernacular Photography: refers to creation of photos usually by amateurs, usually of everyday life or of common things.

Ria Van Dyke every year a travelling fair came to her town, and one stall was shooting a target, if you hit the target your photo would be taken. http://www.redrif.com/2011/08/26/ria-in-the-range-year-after-year-31-pics/

Taliban – a photobook of Taliban who had their photo taken at a studio even though they had banned it. But the images were left once the Taliban were thrown out of the country. http://www.magnumphotos.com/C.aspx?VP3=SearchResult&ALID=2TYRYDIT12AL

Mohini Chandra – showed a family album but only showed the back as that is where the information lies.

Adam Broomberg & Oliver Chanarin – won the Deutsche Bank Prize 2013 – their work is about intervening with archives and make sense of them. But tries to make you reconsider. Represented the photos from the troubles in Ireland. But selected those that were selected to start with, with the annotations as well. Titled it by date and where they found it in the archives. Then peeled back the dots of contact sheet and only printed what was behind the dots.

Is a Picture Worth A Thousand Words – Mez Packer – Creative Writing

Look at skills to generate ideas.

We did a free writing exercise on Edward Hopper’s Morning Sun painting. So you just write what comes to mind, you can’t take your pen off the paper.  in 4 minutes. I wrote:

I have seen this image before, we looked at it last year with Matt in the digital world lectures last year. He showed us how the image can look different and be edited because people have taken it off the Internet. I wonder if this is what the actual painting looks like? I guess not because the projector in this room is funny. After his I have nothing to say I like going to art galleries but usually paintings just don’t do it for me. I wonder what Hopper was thinking when he painted this? How long did it take? Who is the girl? Where is she? Did he know her well? Although this is what I wonder, part of me just doesn’t care. I feel horrible saying that but it’s true.

We then thought of 5 burning questions we would like to know the answer to:

  • Why do we get most annoyed at people’s behaviour even though we probably do it ourselves? – Why don’t we empathise?
  • Is there a God?
  • Why do parents have children and not seem to care about them and/or treat them like shit?
  • Why do people do things they really don’t enjoy?
  • Why can’t people be independent/think for themselves?

We then focused on what we value which could fit into two categories Global/Personal so we wrote down five values for each, I wrote:

Global:

  • Religion
  • Psychology
  • Empathy/sympathy
  • Understanding
  • Unity

Personal:

  • Family
  • Memory
  • Happiness
  • Holidays
  • Fun

We thought what we would die for.

I personally don’t think there is anything. I don’t feel there is something in my life I feel so strongly about that I would end my life for. I think if I did it would be in the heat of a moment.

We then wrote a story or prose focusing on one of our values. For homework we must finish it and bring a set of images to go with it.

My story is about someone moving due to witness protection, and the first thoughts the person has:

I want to keep my memories of what will be my previous life. Do I take my photos? Can I take my photos? I am now a blank canvas. I can be anyone I want. If I take my photos am I holding onto the memories of a life I will never have again? But these memories were me, they made who I am today. Can I really just leave these memoires behind? Will I want the memories of me before in photos? Why would I? I am a blank canvas I can just replace these memories with new memories. Better memories. I can be someone better, a me.2 if you like. I can be whoever I want, this is the ultimate reinvention. Although surely the core of me will stay the same? I will still have my sense of humour and my interests.

It’s a strange balance trying to stay who I am but change enough to be someone different. I will take my clothes only because they’re essential. Maybe I can buy new clothes, this is my reinvention after all. I need to take my money, food and kitchen utensils. I don’t need my furniture, perhaps I can sell it, buy myself a camera for the new memories.

 

DSC_0008

 

Birmingham Library.

We went to Birmingham library to look at the Referencing exhibition. Which showed three photographer’s work. There was a series of portraits, which were well lit. However, they did not mean anything to me. I assumed they were people who were crucial in the build of it, but there was no information. Michael Collins had his work shown of the build which was interesting. However, I just wanted more information on the exhibition.

The library itself didn’t feel like a library on the outside or inside. The outside it looked strange it didn’t fit in with the landscape which was in a sort of old looking buildings. On the inside it was loud. The escalators were creating a lot of noise and there were so many people talking that i felt like if I came here to study I wouldn’t be able to. The way the books were laid out looked messy an unappealing.

Leave a Reply

