Home

We were asked to create a montage over the top of a cut up (either what we did last week or a new one). I wanted to create a new cut up but of the same clip from last time.

I created a cut up of David Cameron so it sounded like a dance piece, similar to Steve Reich’s It’s Gonna Rain but with a few more layers. I struggled with the idea of a montage, I even reworded Vertov’s quote on montages:

Montage means organizing film fragments (shots) into a film-object. It means writing something cinematic with the recorded shots. It does not mean selecting the fragments for “scenes” (the theatrical bias) or for titles (the literary bias).

To: Montage means organising shots into a movie. It means writing something like a film with the recorded shots. It does not mean selecting the fragments for “scenes” (the theatrical bias) or for titles (the literary bias).

After a further bit of research I decided a montage could be one of the following:

I decided the conveying an emotion slightly mixed with telling a story.

This is my video:

I don’t particularly agree with Cameron and his policies so I wanted to take the mick out of him. So I thought to enhance this make people dance to his policies and his opinions. I hope to make people laugh at this but also to show my opinions of Cameron across.

Leave a Reply

