Home

On February 17th 2014 I attended a lecture called The Power of the Network. In our lives we use lots of different network whether physical or not, we use road and rail networks everyday. We have social network of friends and family and then there is the network called the internet. But what has been discovered is that they run on the same formulas so the unity of nature and a love affair have the same mathematical equations behind it. This just blows my mind! This cannot be purely a coincidence because how can this be? Unfortunately I don’t have much of a mathematical brain so I don’t think this is something I will be able to fathom.

Something that has always fascinated me is the small world theory. Again I can’t compute that I am just 6 people away from anyone in this world. So I know someone, who knows someone, who knows someone, who knows someone, who knows someone, who knows Obama or Madonna or some random man in China!? I can’t believe it, I really can’t. I actually just find myself thinking how I might be connected to someone. For example, a cousin of mine lives in America, perhaps she knows someone who knows someone (etc  etc) who knows Obama? Or my parent’s friends live near Madonna, perhaps there is a connection there?

Something else that shocked me from this lecture is that the way the internet is evolving to look like a brain. Again this can’t be a coincidence but when I think about it, it slightly makes sense in a weird way. That because it is constantly making connections (like out brain) there would be the potential for it look like our brain.

Leave a Reply

