Home

I struggled at first with the idea of ‘Play’ because I don’t play any games or play anything for that matter. I then thought I do listen to music, and so I have to press the ‘play’ button to listen to and when I am in a good mood I will dance in my room, so I thought it would be interesting to do long exposures of me dancing.

Screen Shot 2014-02-26 at 13.30.58 Screen Shot 2014-02-26 at 13.31.25 Screen Shot 2014-02-26 at 13.31.59

I really didn’t like these, I felt like the movement wasn’t completely there and it wasn’t obvious I was dancing. As I was doing these videos I started thinking about using a strobe light to capture movements. I have a flashlight app on my phone which allows you to create a strobe light effect and you can adjust it to how many flashes a second.

I started off holding it:

Screen Shot 2014-02-26 at 13.45.17

That didn’t work, so I found a strobe light effect on youtube, which worked better but I wanted sharper figures:

Screen Shot 2014-02-26 at 13.47.47 Screen Shot 2014-02-26 at 13.47.49

So I held a flash as I had the shutter open Screen Shot 2014-02-26 at 13.52.14 Screen Shot 2014-02-26 at 13.53.21

This is what I wanted. I did lots of different variations and angles like of my feet:

Screen Shot 2014-02-26 at 13.59.45

And I used gels too:

Screen Shot 2014-02-26 at 13.59.05

I wanted to do just more than these photos I wanted to incorporate my music into it without using my music. So I thought layering it with something like an visualisation or playlist. I felt a playlist would be too much or busy. I thought I could use TuneGlue but I felt that it wasn’t colourful enough as the pictures are quite black anyway it would strange. Also as a lot of the artists I listen to are similar I felt like you would get very similar visualisation over the top of each photo.

Screen Shot 2014-02-26 at 14.06.01

So I searched for ‘music visualisations’ and found the Infinite Jukebox which looks at how there is relationships between the sounds in a song, so where there is a similarities it connects the two parts together. all i want zzzonked

So I chose ten images I liked the most and chose ten of my favourite songs. I then layered over the visualisation and lessened the opacity to about 25% and then cropped the image to square and here are my final images:

When doing the photos I was thinking about work I had seen before like that of Harold Edgerton, where he captured movement using a strobe:

I really like the how much movement was caught in the images, you can see how far the gymnast went or how high the baton was thrown. Unfortunately the flash I used couldn’t be flashed repeatedly otherwise I would have captured more movement. I did consider layering images together but I felt it might look to busy.

If anything I feel like my work is similar to that of Eadweard Muybridge, who did high speed photography to capture the movement of something or someone, his most famous sequence is of the racehorse. This was a scientific piece of work to show that a horse, when running, at one point all the hooves come off the ground. However, this series is different to mine as the images are not layered over one an other they are single images.

So I thought who tries to capture movement in one image, so I thought of Jonathan Shaw, he likes to play around with cameras, specifically film cameras. So he makes it so the camera captures one image of the real of film like this image, which creates a very surreal image but you can also see the movement of the person or people involved in each photograph. But I like I said I did wanted my self to be a bit sharper in the photograph.

All in all, I do like the photographs I have taken for this set of images. If I had more time  I would have used film, I did start to take photos on a film camera so I will see how they turned out.

Leave a Reply

