Home

I thought I should look at the wider context that my video will fall into. So I thought about the different elements of my video and who has used them or currently uses them and why.

Use of D800

I chose to use a Nikon D800 purely out of ease, because it is my camera I wouldn’t have to rely on booking it out another DSLR like the Canon 5d mk ii from the loan store, especially at this peak period. I feel the quality is just as good. Here is a comparison:

In a comparison to the D800 and the upgrade of the 5D Mark ii (the Mark iii) the D800 records more detail.

Even though I don’t have access to the video cameras at the loan store I checked out the advantage of using a DSLR over a video camera. This page said:

  • Being able to interchange lenses.
  • Having more control of depth of field
  • Lighter

Use of GoPro

A GoPro camera is a versatile camera. Because it is so versatile you can put it in situations other cameras can’t get into. It has accessories which aids this further. For example a suction pad that can attach it to a wall, there is a strap to attach it parts of your body like wrist or head additionally there is a underwater case.

Leviathan is a film that was mainly shot using a GoPro. I really like the shots that you wouldn’t see normally yourself or through cameras. This enforced my reasoning for wanting to try a GoPro within my video.

This video is an experimental video using a GoPro, it is of a man diving into a pool the original clip is 2.5seconds but the videographer has slowed it down to about 2 minutes long. I love the contrast between the dark water and the white foam from when he dives in. I think it works much better than his first attempt which is in a blue tint. Again this video is a brilliant example to show off the GoPro because you can see things you wouldn’t normally see, like a slow motion jump whilst the camera is underwater.

This clip is one example of a DSLR and GoPro coming together. Although I think in this example there isn’t much use of the GoPro and it doesn’t show off it’s capabilities.

Abstract or Experimental Videos

  • This video I didn’t like at the start. You can tell what is happening . At 38 seconds I really liked the movement and how the light fell, I couldn’t quite work out what was happening until I realised that I had actually seen the projected photos beforehand. After that I felt it became a little repetitive and dull. I want to keep the viewer interested and keep the video moving throughout to keep the viewer alert.
  • This video is a experimental animation video. Even though I am not using animation I still thought it would be interesting to look at. I really like how the audio pairs with the visual. I like how you have a musical piece and the hands almost look like they are conducting it. When there is an extended note the hands stretch too. I think it was well done. Although like I say, it is too different from what I am intending.
  • Another experimental video was filmed in Japan, I think it is quite similar to my idea as there’s lot of clips that come together, they might be repeated but it works well. Although again, the viewer can see what is happening and the video is very literal.

 

Use of Repetition in Video And Sound 

Usually repetition is used to enforce what you are saying. For example some people use the ‘rule of three’ as a persuasive technique or to give someone further understanding of something.

According to the University of Chicago’s Theories of Media Glossary “repetition is connected with memorisation”. I think it is really strange and almost poignant that repetition has this connotation of memory yet in the context of my video that doesn’t exist. Additionally repetition refers to the “recurrence of an action or an event”, which is something I am looking at. The article goes on to say “repetition is an especially potent technique of production when a finite number of elements can be organized in infinite combinations” I like this idea because when researching for this video I keep getting different ideas on ways to edit this video so even though there is a set number of clips I have shot there are endless possibilities of ways to organise and edit the clips together.

  • I watched this video on repetition and I really liked the use of multiple screens to get the message across. I might try this idea in my video.
  • I watched this video thinking it would be a video on repetition of daily life but it turned out to be a sort of motivational video. Although it’s not what I am doing I did really like the start where you see a beige room and the camera would cut to the dark room with the strobe lights. I thought about doing that but with the burnt toast and smoke.
  • I love this video that uses repetition to enforce how everyday occurrences are usually ignored or unappreciated by us. I like how the sound is constant, although it does add in new sounds here and there. I like how you see ordinary things in the video sped up so the movements in the video match the sounds.
  • However, all these videos are too literal and not experimental enough. Although the little bits from each that I liked could build up to create a more abstract and experimental piece.
  • I watched this experimental video, I love it! I love the tones it and the use of movement, it almost looks like a strobe light, especially at moments when all the bodies are moving. I like it because at times you can’t tell what is happening like the hands look like waterfalls or in a weird way ants.
  • This video claims itself as being experimental. Although I didn’t feel it. I felt it tell the story in quite an literal way.

Memory in Art and Media

  • Ken Matsubara uses repetition in his photos and videos as a way to connect to memory. In one video explaining his work he says

I think memories about the past and we a lot of memories about the past but I think repetition also is memory to the future.

I don’t really understand what he means by this. I thought about it a lot and they way i understand it is for me a way to remember something is repetition, which goes into your memory so can think about it in the future. But for me this is the total opposite of what I want to do with my video. But that’s the strange thing with Alzheimer’s even with the repetition a person who suffers with it still can’t remember what they are doing or have done.

  • This video looks at memory loss. A man wakes from a night and cannot remember what happened. The answers lie with the woman he wakes with. In this instance he is trying to gain the information by asking her questions. Whereas in my video I am not trying to gain information I am depicting what happens.
  • The videographer of this film likes to document the everyday memory. And I feel she succeeds in it. I don’t think there is much more to it. For me it’s almost like a memento of a summer. So in some ways it is the reverse of my video. Her video is looking at ways
  • This video looks at the line between memory of a dream and where is crosses with reality. I think it is well shot and I like how the video cuts to quite disturbing images. I think I might try cutting to the burnt toast a little more.

 

Way Alzheimer’s is Depicted in Media

  • One man drew self portraits from when he was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s until his death. The work was his way of understanding. It shows this slow lose of self and I feel it is very moving.
  • This video is quite a short and simple piece on Alzheimer’s. In length it is very similar to mine. In some ways the content is similar too, focusing on living with someone who has the disease, and it doesn’t try to gain answers but just shows what happens. However, as opposed to mine it is quite simple with little editing besides the sequence. I am hoping to do a little more editing than that.
  • A slightly satirical video on Alzheimer’s, again quite similar to the video before in length and how it is quite truthful in content with little editing. Again I hope to be more experimental with my editing.
  • This video on Alzheimer’s audio is quite truthful too, it explains the visual, whereas my audio is an experimental piece.

In my video I use the technique of montage a lot. We did look at editing in the lectures but I felt I needed to gain a more solid understanding of it. This is mainly from editing it, which is what Pudovkin stated

“The foundation of film art is editing.”

 

He said editing was way to guide the emotions of the view – relational editing. This is something I try to set out to do. Especailly at the end of the video with the crescendo and the racing images, I have tried to shock the audience with the volume.

I have used contrast montage when comparing the orange elements and the purple toaster.

One thought on “Final Piece 263: Memory: The Research

  1. Pingback: Final Piece 263: Memory: The Process | kkuphotography

Leave a Reply

